As this is the first post to this blog, I think it is only fitting that we start with the basics. A basic, anyway. This is something I think everyone should be able to do, and something that goes on my table nearly every night.  It is easy, it is quick, it is endlessly adaptable and it will save you from ever having to lower yourself to buy a bottle of salad dressing ever again. Without further ado, I bring you

The One True Salad Dressing

The only tool you will need for this recipe that you may not already have is a mortar and pestle.

Mortar and Pestle

If you don’t already have one, get one. Every kitchen should have one.

Ingredients:

1 clove garlic

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp vinegar  (Any kind will do. I used balsamic, because I’m fancy)

1 – 1 1/2 tbsp oil  (I used extra virgin olive oil because I have ideas above my station)

Step one!

Smash garlic with the side of a large knife and roughly chop. Add salt. If should look like this:

Step two!

Smash it up like so:

The salt reacts with the garlic, causing it to liquidize, which is very convenient for our purposes.

There are a number of other ingredients one can add at the smashy stage; a chopped anchovy, or a chopped fresh herb, or a teaspoon of mustard.

Step three!

Then we add our vinegar and oil . You could also use lemon or lime juice instead of vinegar, or a combination. I often use half vinegar/half lemon.

Mixed up it looks like this:

And you are done!

This may not look like very much, but it is precisely enough for one family sized green salad. Throw it on and toss, and let it sink in for a few minutes. Try not to eat it all before anyone else gets to the table. Also, don’t be tempted to dip a bit of bread in it to taste, because you will keep doing so until there is no more dressing. I mean, you can, if you want, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Oh, and also, once you start using this dressing, you will be spoiled for all bottled vinaigrettes. I don’t care if it is made by Mr. Newman himself (lord rest his soul) you will be all, like, ptui.

Enjoy!

