I am afraid of fish. It’s true. I get that it isn’t logical, that is why it is a phobia. Anyway, for some reason, people put fish into tapanade and it doesn’t need to be there at all. My boyfriend knows of my fear and though I tell him tapanade is really easy to make, he insisted on buying it twice this weekend and both times it was just not good, but didn’t  involve fish products. So, since he spent his holiday weekend helping me garden and generally being a prince, I made some for lunch today. We had it with baguette and manchego and lemonade with added rose water (lovely) out on the deck. He’s now convinced.

Tapanade
-Equal parts black olives and kalamata olives (approximately equal is fine)
-One clove of garlic (or more if you are using more than the equivalent of one can of black olives)
-one sprig of rosemary

Put the clove of garlic and rosemary leaves into a food processer and go at it until they are finely chopped. Add the olives and pluse until the olives are chopped but not too finely. Let it sit at room temp. for a couple hours before serving.

For a “fancy” appetizer, toast baguette slices and then spread a small amount of fig paste (or something like apricot  jam would also work), a nice heap of tapanade and a sprinkle of crumbled goat cheese. Swooning ensues.

