100_2462

Vanilla “Bug” Cakes

I love funky cake pans. LOVE. So, when I saw this cool Nordic Ware cakelet pan a few years ago, I bought it to make cakes for my son’s bug-themed 3rd birthday party where they were a big, buggy hit!

Nordic Ware Backyard Bugs Cakelet Pan

This is the recipe that came with the pan. It may belong to Williams Sonoma (that’s where I bought it) – whatever the case, it’s delicious.

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups (360g) of all-purpose flour

1 3/4 cups (440g) sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

2/4 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. kosher salt

2 sticks of unsalted butter, melted

1 cup (250g) sour cream

1 tbs. vanilla extract

All of the ingredients should be at room temperature. The rack should be positioned in the lower third of the oven and the oven preheated to 375°F (190°C). Grease and flour the wells of the pan (I use the spray that has the flour in it).

To make the cakes, sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt into the bowl of the electric mixer. In a separate bowl, whisk together the melted butter, sour cream, eggs and vanilla until combined. Fit the mixer with the flat beater. Add the butter mixture to the flour mix and beat on the lowest speed until the dry ingredients are moistened, 15 to 20 seconds. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl. Increase the speed to medium for 30 seconds.

Spoon batter into the wells, dividing evenly and filling each well to within 1/2 inch (12mm) of the rim. Tap the pan firmly on the counter to get rid of any air bubbles. Bake about 18 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean when you insert it into the middle of the cakes). Put the rest of the batter in the refrigerator covered with plastic wrap while you wait for the next round.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool for about 15 minutes. Clean the pan and re-flour and grease the wells to repeat the process. You’re supposed to wait an hour to decorate them, but I’ve never iced them; I sprinkle powdered sugar or cocoa on them instead.  You can also make a glaze and use a pastry brush to coat them, but I’ve never done that either. I’m lazy.

This guy knows a delicious bug when he eats one. Trust me.

This guy knows a delicious bug when he eats one. Trust me. Bzzzt!

