I’m mostly good with the whole gluten-free thing. My health has so improved since I de-glutened my life that I hardly ever cast sad eyes on crusty French baguettes or Canadian Oreos* or puff pastry.

Except. 

Once upon a time, if my day had been full of printer errors and cranky clients and buck-passing coworkers, I would console myself with an order of Zip’s chicken strips. Crunchy, salty, fried to a dark golden brown – whether my crisis was occupational or hormonal, an order of chicken strips would always make me feel better. 

*Random fact! Canadian Oreos are actually ten poobley times better than American Oreos. Perhaps it is the magic Mountie dust? Or the fact that they use real sugar instead of corn syrup? Either way, hand over your Oreos, Canadians, and no one gets hurt!

ZOMG Fried Chickens

(Recipe after break. For chicken. Recipe for Oreos: Drive to Canada. The End.)

Fried Chicken Strips, Gluten-Free

If you are from Spokane, you will want to dip these in tartar sauce. If you dip them in Ranch? I don’t want to hear about it. Ranch is Satan’s own condiment.

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken pieces (I prefer thighs, as they are less likely to dry out during the cooking process)
  • buttermilk
  • Hot pepper sauce (Cholula for me, but Tabasco works fine)
  • rice flour
  • 3 eggs and 2 T milk, beaten together
  • More rice flour, seasoned with salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, grated parmesan cheese (here is where the stuff in the green can comes in – do not waste Parmigiano-Reggiano on fried chicken coating or the ghosts of a thousand Italian grandmothers will haunt you. Or, you know, you will waste money.)
  • Frying oil 

If you’re using thighs, you can use them whole – breast pieces will probably need to be cut in halves or thirds. Cover chicken with buttermilk, mixed with a couple of tablespoons of hot pepper sauce and put in the refrigerator for 3-4 hours, or overnight.

Preheat oven to 250°, and put into the oven a pan lined with paper towels.

Drain chicken, and pat most of the buttermilk off with paper towels. Dredge chicken in plain rice flour, then in egg mixture, and then in the seasoned rice flour. Place on a rack so the coating can set up and dry a little – once all pieces of chicken are coated, let them sit on the rack for 30 minutes.

Heat 1/4 – 1/2 inch of oil in a deep frying pan until hot – I use light olive oil as a frying medium, and I heat it until it juuuuust starts to smoke a little – and fry chicken, 3 or 4 pieces at a time, 3 minutes on a side, or until dark golden brown. As chicken comes out of the fat, place into the pan in the oven to drain and keep hot.

Serve with crinkle-cut fries and tartar sauce for authentic Spokane experience.

