crumble2

Raspberries were two for one at Harris Teeter this weekend, and I bought some, because raspberries are the food of the gods to me. Seriously, when I was a kid on summer break, I used to take my babysitting/lemonade-stand money and ride my bike up to the grocery store and buy as many raspberries as I could afford and take them home and nom them up without restraint. It’s been much too long since I had fresh raspberries, and I was nomming today’s up like the berries of old when it occurred to me: Hey, you can cook with these things.

So I looked around the Internet a bit, seeking a recipe that didn’t call for a bunch of stuff I didn’t have (cream cheese, Cool Whip, graham crackers). Finally I found this and it looked good, so I decided to make it.

Here’s the recipe, copied and pasted from Allrecipes:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 pinch ground cinnamon
  • 4 cups raspberries
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 teaspoons cornstarch

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease one 13×9 inch pan.
  2. Combine 1 cup of the sugar, the flour, baking powder, salt, ground cinnamon, shortening, and egg. Dough will be crumbly. Pat half of the dough into the prepared pan.
  3. Combine the remaining 1/2 cup sugar, the cornstarch and berries. Place mixture over dough in pan. Crumble the remaining dough over the tops of the berries.
  4. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 45 minutes or until the top is slightly brown.

My verdict is nom, although I have to say that anything with raspberries would basically be a winner in my book. I have a few caveats, though. (Am I using that word correctly?)

First, the crust is basically completely dry with just one egg. I had to add another egg because I secretly believed I must have forgotten to add the first egg, even though I had a broken, empty eggshell to prove this was not the case (not to mention the vivid memory of recent egg addition). So if you make this I’d go with two eggs in the crust. I’d also cut back the amount of flour in the crust a little bit; mine came out a bit floury, which is nice and mild and lets the raspberry flavor through, but I still think you could get away with maybe 1 and 3/4 cups. And you might want to add a little more sugar and/or some lemon zest to the crust as well. I’m eating this right now, and it’s completely awesome, but I think some lemon zest would make it absolutely magnificent.

Two packages of raspberries were $4 and the rest of the ingredients can’t have come to more than $1, so I’ll call this a $5 dessert. Not the most frugal (ask me about my apple crisp!), but not bank-breaking, either. And this has one important bonus feature: Even if I eat it in two days, it will have lasted a lot longer around my kitchen than two packages of raspberries ever could.

