So I took a few days off recently and spent my time eating pastry and gelato.  I’ve never been a huge cheesecake fan.  I’ve always found cheesecake to be heavy and cloying and, well, overly creamy and not cakey enough.  Well, that all changed when I walked into a little Pâtisserie where they had this gorgeous golden brown cheesecake begging for me to buy it.  I don’t think I was three steps out the door before I had devoured the whole thing.  Since then I’ve been on a quest to recreate it all by myself.  This is a pretty damn fine start.

Adapted from the Joy of Cooking: Ricotta Cheesecake.

16 ounces fresh whole milk ricotta, drained (They said 20 ounces, but I had only made 16 ounces)

12 ounce cream cheese, room temperature (use full fat, not reduced or fat free cream cheese) (They said 8 ounces, but I put in 4 more to make up for the ricotta short fall)

1 cup (200 grams) granulated white sugar

1 tablespoon cornstarch (Beff, I think you can skip this.  I’ve seen other recipes without any corn starch)

4 large eggs, room temperature

They also said to add the zest of 1 lemon and 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla, but I left both of these out because the cheesecake I was trying to match did’t have any vanilla and the ricotta already had a slightly lemony flavor so I didn’t need this.

  1. I mixed the ricotta and creamcheese until smooth and then added the sugar and beat it for another 2-3 minutes.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl while beating to make sure everything is incorporated.

2. Add the eggs and beat in one at a time.  I forgot to let the eggs come to room temperature.  I have no idea how this affected the final product

3.  Double wrap the bottom of a 9-inch springform pan with aluminum foil and place it in a bain marie with the water (hot)  coming about 1/2 way up the pan.  Pour the batter in.  At this point you may ask yourself where is the nasty graham cracker crust? That gritty vile stuff that totally messes up a perfectly good cheesecake?  Yes, it’s totally unnecessary and so it will come no where near my awesome cheesecake.

4. Place the cheesecake in the 350-degree preheated oven forabout 1 hour and 10 minutes.  Then take it out and marvel at the weird souffle-ness of your creation and wonder what the heck is up with that.

5. Then be mildly sad when it settles back down.  But don’t worry.  You will forget it all once you taste it and realize you just make one fucking awesome cheesecake.

