Did you know that, according to the Southern Rockland Co. Center for Wheatberry Studies, 99.99% of all Americans are not getting their recommended daily allowance of wheatberries? And according to the Wheatberry Institute at the State University of New York at Pulldata Myasse, just one serving of wheatberries a day can lead to higher levels of energy, youthful high-spiritedness and increased sexytude? Not to mention their effect on bowel regularity. So, as part of my work for the National Association for the Advancement of Wheatberry Consumption, I am dedicating the following blog post to the delicious fruit of the wheat tree, the wheatberry.

It all started the other day when I and my nearest and dearest were having an enjoyable romp around the grounds of the Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture , mainly with the intention of taking suggestive pictures of farm animals and pilfering recipe ideas from their cafe. I am pleased to report the trip was successful on both counts. After an exciting afternoon of insulting pigs and sneaking up on turkeys, we settled down to a delicious lunch*, which included a delightful quinoa salad. This reminded me of the fact that wholegrain-based  salads are my sixth favorite thing in the world (falling just ahead of bossa nova music and just behind indictments of members of the Bush Administration) and that I just don’t make them nearly enough. So as soon as I was back in my kitchen and had worked up enough of an appetite, I set to work.

Wheatberry-vegetable salad with Fennel-Parsley Hummus

Wheat Berry salad

Ingredients:
1 cup wheatberries
1 tbsp olive oil
4 cloves garlic,  sliced into large chunks
A pinch of red pepper flakes
3 large carrots, sliced on the diagonal
1 small yellow squash, sliced also diagonally
the kernels from one ear of corn
A handful of fresh parsley, chopped
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
The juice and grated zest of one lemon
Salt, pepper

Method:
Boil wheatberries in a  medium pot of water until soft but still chewy, about 20-30 minutes. Drain.

Heat oil in large dutch oven or a skillet that has a cover. Add garlic, carrots and red pepper flakes. Cover and cook on  medium heat until carrots are al dente, about 7 minutes. Add corn, squash and parsley. Cook a few more minutes. Add pumpkin seeds, wheat berries, and lemon juice and zest. Cook, stirring, until heated through.

Hummus

Ingredients:
One can chick peas, drained
1-2 tbsp tahini
2 tbsp olive oil (more or less)
1 clove garlic
Juice and zest of one lemon
Handful of fresh parsley
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp fennel seeds
salt, pepper

Method:
Put all ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth.

Not only is this salad an important part of a balanced diet, it is completely veganitarian (no animal products were even glanced at during the making of this blog post).

A pig I disparaged

A pig I disparaged.

A turkey I snuck up on.

A turkey I snuck up on.

So cute you could eat him... eventually.

So cute you could eat him... eventually.

* I’ve eaten dinner there, too. I’m fancy, y’all!

