If you are like me (and I think you probably are),  your tomatoes haven’t been very good this year.  In fact they probably haven’t ripened at all, and here you are at the beginning of October with a bunch of green tomatoes to dispose of and a distinct lack of options.

I have always been vaguely disdainful of the whole fried green tomatoes idea. Anything tastes good when you coat it in eggs and breadcrumbs and fry it 1/2 an inch of oil.  That does not impress anyone. This will.

Green Tomato Roasted Salsa

6 medium green tomatoes, sliced in half, horizontally

1 medium onion, preferably a sweet onion, like a Vidalia, sliced thickly

2 jalapenos or similar ( I grew these as well! Aren’t I clever?)

1/2 cup chopped cilantro

The juice of 1 lime

Two cloves of garlic

Salt to taste.

Sugar ( if necessary)

Method: In a grill pan, broiler or charcoal grill,  roast tomatoes until soft and blackened at the edges.  Grill jalapenos whole until the skin is blackened, and grill onions until cooked through.

Put all the grilled vegetables into a food processor with the lime juice, garlic and cilantro. Blend until it looks salsa-y (if you don’t know what this looks like, don’t panic! I have helpfully included a picture for reference).  Taste and add salt. Taste again and if it tastes at all bitter (mine did, I blame the onion), add a little (1/2 teaspoon or so) sugar.  Mix well.

Delicious. If you forget about the corn chips and just started eating it out of the bowl with a spoon like I did,  it also has practically no calories. Hurrah!

